Yarn Along

I’ve been working on the Perpetua Shawl on and off for a few weeks. I like the look of the shawl and I love the yarn, Madelinetosh Merino Light, but each row takes forever to knit so I find myself only able to manage a row per day at most.  With the 70+ degree temperatures we’ve seen around here lately, I don’t think I’ll be able to wear the shawl this season. Fingers crossed for cooler temps and much needed rain.

2014-01-21 11.50.06

2014-01-21 11.54.34

I’m also reading Song of the Spirits by Sarah Lark. It’s the sequel to In the Land of the Long White Clouds following the lives of colonial families in New Zealand. It’s an enjoyable, light read after finishing Ken Follett’s nearly 1,000 page Winter of the World, which was totally engrossing and fabulous. Daniel and I are also busy reading the third book in the Harry Potter series. Daniel loves them, which is good enough for me, but I’m a little tired of reading about “you know who”…only 5 more to go I think!

Join Ginny at Small Things to see what others are knitting and reading this week.

2 thoughts on “Yarn Along

  1. I have the yarn and the pattern for this same shawl. Your comment about the rows taking forever to knit now has me a bit apprehensive. I’m not the most patient knitter. It will be worth it in the end, though, right? If I have a quick project going at the same time maybe that will help.

    • Knitting 400 charted stitches can be a little tedious and difficult with little ones running around, but I think the results are lovely, so go for it. I have a bunch of little things going on too for when I only have a few minutes to sit down.

Leave a Reply

