A Recipe: Cinnamon Swirl Bread

2014-01-30 07.57.06

Looks good, right? Like so good I practically finished off the loaf myself. Sure, I let the kids have a slice but I didn’t offer them anymore and I sort of hid the loaf out of the way…for me.

But here’s my problem with bread baking. I often find that I can’t be home for the 4 hours it takes to mix, knead, let rise, form, rise again, bake, and finely eat. I’ve had the book Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day for a number of years now and have had great success with the recipes. Basically on day one you mix all the ingredients together without kneading and let the dough rise for 2 hours. Then you pop it in the refrigerator overnight. The next day is when you rip off a chunk of dough, because the recipe makes about 3-4 loaves, form it, let it do its second rising, and bake. Pretty simple, not overly time-consuming, and the results are good…eat the whole loaf yourself good.

So the other day when I just had to have cinnamon swirl bread, but I didn’t want to be house bound for the afternoon, I looked to my cookbook for a good white bread loaf recipe and adapted it for cinnamon swirl bread. And a bonus, I still have 2 loaves worth of dough in the refrigerator begging to be used up. One, definitely for another loaf of cinnamon-y goodness, and the other a basic white sandwich loaf.

2014-01-30 07.53.33

Cinnamon Swirl Bread
(recipe adapted from Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day)
This recipe makes enough for 3 loaves
3 cups lukewarm water
1 1/2 Tbls yeast
1 1/2 Tbls kosher salt
2 Tbls sugar
1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted
7 cups unbleached all-purpose flour

Filling
2 tsp cinnamon
1/3 cup sugar
1 egg beaten with a splash of water

1. Mix the water, yeast, salt, sugar, and melted butter in a large bowl. I use the bowl of my Kitchen Aid mixer.
2. Mix in the flour using just a spoon and maybe a wet hand to incorporate the last bit of flour. Don’t go crazy mixing and kneading. The dough will look really wet. It’s perfect.
3. Cover loosely with plastic wrap and set in a nice warm spot to rise for approximately 2 hours. Then pop it in the refrigerator for when you’re ready to use, up to 7 days.
4. On baking day dust with flour the surface of the dough and pull off a 1 1/2 pound piece. Using a little more flour to help shape it into a ball. Use a rolling-pin on a floured surface to roll the dough out to an 8×16 inch rectangle.
5. Use a pastry brush to cover dough will the egg wash. Mix together the sugar in cinnamon and sprinkle mixture over the dough, reserve a little for the top.
6. Starting on short side, roll the it up like a jelly roll. That’s what makes the nice swirl effect after cutting. Pinch the edge and tuck the ends under.
7. Place loaf in a lightly greased nonstick loaf pan. Let rise for 1 – 1 1/2 hours.
8. Right before baking, brush on a little more of the egg wash and the left over cinnamon sugar mixture.
9. Bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes.
10. Remove from pan to let cool…and I dare you not to cut a slice while it’s still hot. It won’t look pretty, but it will be so delicious.

 

I’ve linked to Natural Suburbia’s Creative Friday…go see what other’s are doing.

2 thoughts on “A Recipe: Cinnamon Swirl Bread

  1. Found you on Creative Friday and copied the cinnamon bread recipe. I LOVE that bread but have yet to find a receipe that is excellent and also easy…yours sounds perfect! I also notice we follow a few same quilt blogs….cluck cluck sew, sew mama sew, Diary…love their inspiration!

Leave a Reply

