Briar Rose Quilt

I didn’t have much time to work on my Sisters Ten Quilt blocks last week. I was able to carve out bits of time here and there and by the end of the week I had finished the May and July blocks. I guess that’s pretty good considering my week. I’m loving the simple color schemes of the May blocks and I learned a new technique, the hourglass. If you have mastered the half square triangle (HST), then this is a piece of cake. Notice on the block in the upper right corner there is a little piece of fabric missing? That little snip is thanks to Daniel. He is still working on self control, obviously, he’s 8. I was so surprised and hurt that he deliberately cut something that I was making. Anyway, we had a long talk about it and a punishment was handed out…hopefully it had an impact on him and he won’t do it again. Seriously, parenting can be painful!  As I was driving the kids to school this morning I was thinking of the least time consuming ways I could fix the problem. It is after all only a corner of the background fabric. Rather than take the whole block apart, I’m going to sew a little piece back onto the corner and call it good. I’m sure in the end it will be hardly noticeable.

IMG_1244

IMG_1247

I’ve linked up this week with Frontier Dreams Keep Calm Craft On. Check it out.

2 thoughts on “Briar Rose Quilt

  1. Many years from now, that little spot will remind you that once you had an adorable child who was 8 and just had to do something! (When you were very young you decided to glue glitter on our brand new $3000.00 coffee table. It was brass so there was not way to remove it.)

    There is an ancient story about the weaving of oriental rugs and master weavers told the story that no matter the size or complexity of the rug the weavers would intentionally make one mistake. Their religious belief was that “only God is perfect”.

    It is a beautiful quilt.
    So there!
    Mom

Leave a Reply

