A Little Selfish Sewing

 IMG_2876

Spring break was so wonderful and it was certainly difficult for me to make the transition back to our regular routine yesterday and back to blogging. We’re all looking forward to summer vacation…just about 6 weeks away. Time is going by too quickly these days so I’m trying to savor each and every moment.

IMG_2871

This past weekend without the kids around I was able to do a bunch of sewing. A little for me, a little for Sarah. I had this dream last week of a yellow polka dot sleeveless wrap dress and I still can’t get it out of my mind. I haven’t found just the right pattern for it yet, so I opted for a yellow skirt. I LOVE this fabric and I can’t wait to wear it tomorrow when it’s going to hit the mid 90s. I used Simplicity 2906 and I definitely will make a few more skirts with it.

IMG_2869

IMG_2867

I also fell in love with the light chambray with aqua dots fabric. I decided to use it for a dress for Sarah though I kind of want to make a skirt for me now. This is the first time I’ve made a dress with a lined bodice and zipper. I think if I make it again, it will go more smoothly, but first time around wasn’t so easy. Can directions get any more vague? Thank goodness for the internet and all the great tutorials out there! Anyway, it’s a sweet little dress and Sarah has requested another one in purple. Yes, any excuse to take a trip to the fabric store.

Up next is this dress for Sarah.

untitled

As usual, I’m linking up with Frontier Dreams.

2 thoughts on “A Little Selfish Sewing

  1. What lovely garments! I agree, that yellow fabric is gorgeous! I have some sewing to do for my girl as well, but I’m waiting til the last minute : See she’s had 2 growth spurts in the last 3 months that have added 2 inches to her frame and my fear is making her summer dresses that won’t fit anymore when June comes around. LOL!

    • That always happens to me with knitting sweaters…she’ll wear it for a month and it will be too small. This dress is pretty big on her so I better get at least a couple seasons out of it!

Leave a Reply

