Sewing for Summer

I picked up Heather Ross’s Weekend Sewing at the library last week and knew I had to make the blouse first. I’ve had this geometric fabric in my stash for a year and thought it would be perfect for this project. I can totally picture wearing this blouse with a pair of white shorts and some strappy sandals…that is if I actually wore shorts and white on my bottom half. I really liked this pattern and finished it up in a few hours. The one issue I had it with was the length. I didn’t even think to measure since I never ever have an problem with something being too short on me. I’m only 5’1″. I had to sew a very narrow hem and even then I think it’s shortish. I will for sure make this again but maybe in a tunic length or even into a dress like this one from Film in the Fridge.

On a side note, Sarah happens to be a much more patient photographer than Daniel and she manages to get my head in the shot. Though she said she was exhausted after take 5 pictures…it is hard work.

IMG_3112

IMG_3149

I also finished this dress for Sarah and it looks adorable on her. Overall this pattern was super simple except for the 1/4″ elastic in the sleeves – it was so small and finicky. For some reason she’s requested this one in purple and all the way to her feet, too. She clearly has a Sophia I obsession at the moment. I’m hoping to surprise her when she gets back from her dad’s this weekend with new purple gown.

IMG_3084

IMG_3090

IMG_3097

One thought on “Sewing for Summer

  1. Love the new top, am impressed with those sewing skills and think you look like a model in the selfie! You are gorgeous and can definitely wear white shorts!
    Mom

Leave a Reply

