Getting it Done

I had a really productive weekend sewing and crafting. It was so nice to have the quiet time to focus on a project without distractions. This is the second time I’ve sewed this dress for Sarah and this time it went much more quickly. I swear the big pattern companies are out to make the most convoluted directions possible. It’s awful. The pattern is similar to Made By Rae’s Geranium Dress. While I don’t own it, she has a free version of the dress for 0-3 months size. I used those directions with my pattern pieces and it was a snap. The dress turned out so adorable. I can’t wait for her to wear it at her party on Thursday.

IMG_4455

IMG_4461

The kids and I also got busy making some patriotic fabric for our new porch chairs. I wish I had taken some pictures of the glue batik process, but it was really easy and we all were having too much fun painting. If you do give it a try, know that that the bright colors of the flag pillow were made using paint that only had a few drops of water to make it easier to spread. The more faded, watercolor looking pillow on the left was made by watering down the paint, a lot. Obvious in hindsight, but I wasn’t really  thinking about it while the kids were painting. The pillows turned out fabulously and I’m loving our front porch area at the moment.

IMG_4475

IMG_4478

I’ve linked up with Frontier Dreams KKCO.

3 thoughts on “Getting it Done

Leave a Reply

