Our New Obsession

20140625-143100-52260736.jpg

20140625-143103-52263097.jpg

I’ve heard about geocaching on and off for a couple years. I’ve even been hiking while another family was seeking out their hidden box, but I never felt the draw to try it myself. Today on a whim I asked Daniel if he wanted to try this new fangled idea and was excited to give it a try. It didn’t hurt that the nearest cache was across the street from the park where we were playing.

We found 2 out of 3 today. The first one Daniel found so quickly that I think the kids expected them to all be so easy. The one we didn’t find is at our neighborhood park so I have no doubt it will be found. And the last cache had us walking through the waist high prickly weeds…in sandals and shorts. Ouch.

Was I the only one in the dark about geocaching? Maybe, but I’m glad I found it. I think it will be great fun this summer with all the different places we tend to visit. And if you were like me (apparently if you aren’t in the know about geocaching you are a muggle) then download the app and start exploring.

Leave a Reply

