The Perfect Summer Cake – Lemon Blueberry Bundt

bundt cake

Last weekend my mom made a really delicious lemon blueberry cake with cream cheese frosting. It was for a picnic but she let me and Sarah sneak a slice before she left and let me tell you, it was scrumptious. It also had me craving more…I didn’t want to deal with making frosting so I went for a lemon blueberry bundt cake. I love a good bundt. They are easy, moist, and it looks like you spent far more time making it than you actually did. Remember that Rice Krispy Treats commercial from the 80s where the mom pretends she’s slaving away in the kitchen while actually ready a romance novel? Not quite what was happening in my house, but nonetheless, it was easy. The hardest part is waiting for the cake to cool. Which I did not and burned my tongue on a blueberry. A hazard of the job.

I thought I’d share the recipe I used. I first found it on Brown Eyed Baker but then as I read through the whole recipe I found out she got the recipe The Smitten Kitchen…of course! That woman makes some great food! She used mixed berries and made a simple frosting which looks great but I omitted. The cake is so moist, a frosting I don’t think is really necessary. Anyway, I hope you make it and use up all those beautiful blueberries in the markets right now.

Lemon Blueberry Bundt Cake

(adapted from Smitten Kitchen)

Ingredients:

2 1/2 cups plus 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 3/4 cups sugar
Zest of 1 lemon
3 large eggs, at room temperature
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
3/4 cup buttermilk
3 cups blueberries

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and generously grease the bundt pan.

In a bowl mix together the 2 1/2 cups of flour, baking power, and salt. Set aside. Using an electric mixer cream the butter, sugar, and lemon zest. Beat for 2-3 minutes. Make sure you scrap the bowl a few times. Add eggs one at a time, mixing well before adding the next. Add vanilla. Then take the flour and buttermilk and add alternating, half the flour, half the buttermilk until it’s all incorporated. In a separate bowl mix the blueberries with the 2 tablespoons flour. Then add blueberries to the batter using a spatula. Careful not the break apart the berries.

Pour into pan, smoothing the top and bake for 55-60 minutes or until a cake tester comes out clean. Let cool for about 30 minutes before turning out onto serving platter.

Enjoy!

 

2 thoughts on “The Perfect Summer Cake – Lemon Blueberry Bundt

Leave a Reply

